I’m a poor gamer :-(

nothing

 Yesss I know it has been a long time since my last post. what kind of excuse can I give you..!??!?

Nothing…

Because I’ve been playing games, héhé, but 3 years ago I was still able to buy all the new game I was waiting for, even pre-order them. Now that I’m a poor gamer, I have to play free games, old games, nothing really new and cool. Worst since I’ve installed Ubuntu, I tried Linux games they are…. very, very, vintage! Same feeling as if you travel to the past.

“Dude doom 3 is awesome! By the way did you try penguin race?”

“No, man my ATI card can’t make it run smoothly, that suck!”

“I’m so waiting for ET Quake wars, the developers said we  would be able take part in the beta test!”

“Wicked man!”

Well I know soond really exciting, that what you can read if you type “Linux game” in Google. Well, anyway, those guys are doing a really great job developing  games for Linux without huge budget.

Another amazing thing is that Id software is the only mainstream company that develop all it’s game for Linux too. They are the one who brought us the Quake serie, the Doom serie, Hexen, Heretic, the Wolfenstein serie only great title. Their new title Et quake wars looks really great! As they try to keep the minimum hardware requirement as low as possible, I might have a chance to run that game.

Still I’m really sad because I was able to run good games on win xp, but now it’s quite complicated. with my ATI readeon mobility 9600, I can’t even run Beryl or Compiz. The penguin race story is true, I tried  to play that game but it was laging so bad!!!! That I almost cried.

I head there is another way to run game is to use a soft called Wine, that (don’t) emulate windows so that you can run windows softwares, games etc…

So, what is left for me is my PSP, the Xbox (the first one no misunderstanding) and a MMORPG called Dofu made with Flash.

I remembered a few years ago when I played that game for the first time. I was really impressed because making a game with flash that is Massively multi-player, is a real achievement. The game is really light, It might be a portable software, I guess you don’t need to install anything and you can carry the game around on a memory stick.

For the rich gamers, enjoy your Hi-def games on your Hi-def screens, with your wireless controllers and your broadband connexion. But keep in mind that I’ll be back in the race as soon as I find a job!

Leave a Reply

